109 W. First St., Portales, NM 88130
P: 575.356.5307
F: 575.356.8307

District I

Dennis Lopez (1st Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2020  

1000 E 1st Street Portales, NM 88130

Cell: 575-799-3548; 


District II

Matthew Hunton (1st Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2020

526C SRR P Portales, NM 88130

Cell: 575-607-5934; 


District III

Shane Lee (2nd Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2022

1736 SRR 10 ½ Portales, NM 88130

Cell: 575-420-8842; 


District IV 

Tina Dixon (1st Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2024

606 Texico Elida, NM 88116

Cell: 575-607-6157; 


District V

Paul Grider (1st Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2022

900 SRR AV Melrose, NM 88124

Home:  575-253-4561 Cell: 575-760-1566;

County Commissioner

The members are elected to the board of county commissioners for four year terms, and must live in the district they represent. Roosevelt county has five commissioners.The board of county commissioners has the power to adopt the county’s budget, to levy county taxes, and to enact ordinances. It is charged with examining and settling all accounts of receipts and expenses and for providing for the issuance of bond financing for necessary public buildings, roads, bridges, airports, utilities, hospitals, and libraries. The board also carries out planning and zoning, and health and safety functions. They may enter into a joint powers agreement with other counties or municipalities to provide common necessary services. Finally, the board has significant appointive, administrative and regulatory powers. The board selects, appoints and re-appoints members to many different commissions and boards that work on specific county issues on behalf of the county’s departments. The board members do not appoint but rather constitute the county canvassing board, the entity charged with post-election duties of tallying the votes and ensuring the integrity of each election. 

 Commission Meeting Schedule:


2020 Meetings

January 7, 2020

February 18, 2020

March 9, 2020              March 24, 2020

April 7, 2020                April 21, 2020

May 5, 2020                 May 26, 2020

June 8, 2020                  June 23, 2020

July 31, 2020 **rescheduled from July 28, 2020

August 11, 2020

September 15, 2020

October 6, 2020          October 20, 2020

November 9, 2020      November 24, 2020

December 1, 2020       December 15, 2020

*Special Meeting

Commission Workshops

Budget Workshops:

Fleet Workshops:

Road Workshops:

Commission Meeting Agenda Request Form

Commission meetings are generally held on the first and third Tuesday of each month, however, some months will be adjusted as necessary to avoid conflicts. The calendar of meetings and holidays is approved by the Commission by the final meeting of the year, for the following year.